Samsung teases massive digicam updates with Galaxy S9 invitations

Nichole Vega
January 27, 2018

Instead of talking about the design, the bezel less display or the overall improvements, the brand chose to focus on the tag line "Camera". The smaller S9 will come with 4 GB RAM and 64 GB internal storage, whereas, the larger S9+ will boast a 6 GB RAM + 128 GB internal storage configuration. The, on the other hand, appears to have a dual camera setup. Notably, the cameras in the upcoming Galaxy S9 series will be vertically aligned, a departure from horizontally aligned camera lens in the Galaxy S8 smartphones.

Samsung Galaxy S9 and Galaxy S9+ will retain the Super AMOLED Infinity Display that we saw on the Galaxy S8 series. Additionally, there is apparently a fingerprint sensor under the lens. While in the case of the Galaxy S8 and Galaxy S8+, the fingerprint scanner rests in an awkward position next to the camera module, in the Galaxy S9 and Galaxy S9+ it will reportedly be placed below it so that reaching out to it won't be as frustrating. Another rumor said the cameras would be equipped with a new image sensor that would allow them to shoot as many as 1,000 photos per second. Also, the differences between both the phones will differ a lot.

As the official event teaser hints, the Galaxy S9 and S9+ are said to offer next-gen cameras.

Much like earlier listings from Ghostek, PoeticCases has new cases for the Galaxy S9+. The cases are seen in three models - Guardian, Revolution, and Affinity. Both these phones will be unveiled next month on 25th, and, are expected to go on sale from March 16.

Samsung Unpacking Event is scheduled for 6PM CET, which will be 12PM ET and 9AM PT.

Other reports by AllAboutTopnews

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER