NYC Marathon winners: Flanagan 1st American since 1977

Jonathan Hernandez
November 6, 2017

Miki Gorman won the event in both 1976 and 1977.

Marblehead native Shalane Flanagan won the New York City Marathon on Sunday, becoming the first American woman in 40 years to accomplish that feat.

The 36-year-old, runner-up in 2010 and sixth at last year's Olympics, won in two hours 26 minutes 53 seconds. Kenyan Mary Keitany, who had won in NY in each of the past three years and set a world record in April, finished second.

Keitany struggled home in 2:27:54 for second with Ethiopia's Mamitu Daska third in 2:28:08. Kenya's Wilson Kipsang took second place, finishing in 2:10:56, and Lelisa Desisa of Ethiopia, victor of the 2013 and 2015 Boston Marathons, finished third in 2:11:32.

In men's event, Kamworor held off compatriot Wilson Kipsang's challenge to win at a time of 2:10:53.

"It's a moment I'm trying to soak up and savor", she said, according to the station.

Only one other women's race runner - Norway's Grete Waitz - can claim that achievement, with five consecutive wins.

Former victor Meb Keflezighi, who was running his final competitive marathon at age 42, finished 11th in 2:15:29.

It was Flanagan's first marathon of the year following a left hip injury in January.

Swiss athletes swept the wheelchair titles. Flanagan also took bronze in the 10,000-meter contest at the 2008 Olympics, but in March, the International Association of Athletics Federations ruled that the silver medalist, Turkey's Elvan Abeylegesse, was being sanctioned for a positive doping case and was disqualified for a two-year period that included the Beijing Games, making Flanagan's the second-fastest time.

Other reports by AllAboutTopnews

Discuss This Article