MSU Volleyball Bears Take On Michigan State For 1st Round of NCAA

Katrina Barker
November 28, 2017

The No. 17-ranked Utah Utes and No. 7-ranked BYU Cougars will both host the first two rounds of the NCAA Women's Volleyball Tournament, the selection committee announced Sunday night.

The NCAA tournament will start in University Park on December 1 on with a 5 p.m. match at Pittsburgh (25-6) and VCU (30-2) and the second match of the night at 7:30 p.m. will feature the host Nittany Lions and Howard (16-15).

The Irish played Ohio State in their last match in the NCAA Championships on November 30, 2012, in Lexington, Kentucky.

Minnesota is one of eight Big Ten teams to make it into the NCAA tournament, joining Penn State, Nebraska, Michigan State, Purdue, Wisconsin, Illinois and Michigan.

The Bears, who finished their regular season 23-6 and second in the Big 12 conference, earned the No. 12 overall seed in the tournament.

This is the first season for NIVC tournament since it ran for six years from 1989-95.

The 3:30 p.m. match features the Florida State Seminoles of the ACC and the Washington State Cougars of the Pac-12.

Creighton's reached the Round of 16 the last two seasons by defeating the home team (North Carolina in 2015, Kansas in 2016). Junior outside hitter Taryn Kloth (3.05 kps.) was named Second Team All-BIG EAST and earned MVP honors at the BIG EAST Championships after leading CU to the title in Saturday's 3-2 win at Marquette.

Notre Dame owns a 14-18 record in 18 previous trips to the NCAA Championship.

The first round of the NCAA Tournament is conducted by 16 host sites, which coincide with national seeds. The tournament features 20 automatic qualifiers and 12 at-large teams; Bowling Green is the only Mid-American Conference school in this tournament. The other teams in the bracket are host UCLA, who received the No. 15 national seed, and Austin Peay. The victor of Saturday's match in the Omaha sub-regional will head to State College, Penn. for third-round and quarterfinal matches on December 8-9.

The NCAA Final Four will be play in Kansas City, Mo., at the Sprint Center on December 14 and 16. All told, Kentucky has hosted the NCAA Tournament 10 times in program history including the opening rounds five times under Skinner.

Other reports by AllAboutTopnews

Discuss This Article