Morocco, Tunisia seal qualification for 2018 World Cup

Jonathan Hernandez
November 12, 2017

They'll join Nigeria, Egypt and Senegal as the continent's five representatives at next year's tournament in Russian Federation.

It is the fifth time that the Moroccan national football team gets qualified for the global FIFA competition.

Morocco secured their place at the 2018 World Cup with a 2-0 win away over the Ivory Coast, while Tunisia got the point they needed to book a trip to Russian Federation.

Unbeaten Tunisia have been to four previous World Cup finals and were the first African country to win a game at the finals, in 1978.

Morocco qualified for the first time since the 1998 World Cup. Tunisia qualified for the World Cup after winning the group with 14 points. Before today's matches, Morocco had 9 points while the Ivorians had 8 points; meaning the victor of the match would qualify.

Juventus defender Medhi Benatia was on target as Morocco qualified for the World Cup for the first time since 1998. But it was the Moroccans who got the breakthrough when Nabil Dirar's cross evaded everyone and found its way it to the net.

Dirar opened the scoring off a cross-turned-shot on 25 minutes and Benatia doubled the lead after a corner on the half-hour.

Ivory Coast manager Marc Wilmots has revealed that he was hoping to have Tiemoue Bakayoko starting in his midfield, but the Chelsea midfielder opted for France.

Tunisia survived some nervous moments in Rades as Libya finished strongly.

DR Congo defeated Guinea 3-1 but that did not matter as Tunisia had secured a point.

Morocco and Tunisia have joined Nigeria, Egypt and Senegal to secure spots in the 2018 FIFA World Cup finals, as the five nations will represent Africa in Russian Federation.

Other reports by AllAboutTopnews

Discuss This Article