WhatsApp to Launch 'Delete for Everyone' Feature Soon - Check More Details

Nichole Vega
October 28, 2017

WhatsApp is rolling out a brand new feature that lets users delete messages they're already sent.

Whatsapp is one of the most heavily used messenger app, and the messages contains tons of secret information about any person.

The website explains that when users delete a text message, WhatsApp sends a fake cope of the message to the recipient. If you want to delete the message for everyone, you only have seven minutes to do so; once the first seven minutes after sending the message are up, you won't be able to delete it for everyone.

As we as of now said, the component will work for both the groups if the sender and recipient are using the most recent WhatsApp rendition. There is no trick to it which means deleted messages are removed on both the receiver and sender's ends. WABetainfo now reports that the new feature, named "Delete for Everyone", has begun taking off to a few clients on Android, iPhone, and Windows Phone applications. More careful users may still be able to look at a preview of the messages from their notification panel, but once opened only the "This message was deleted" label will greet them. Once the limit has passed, you can only delete the message in your conversation window.

The messages you delete will be replaced by "This messaged was deleted" in the chat. Secondly, deleting a message in no way ensures that the message wasn't seen by the recipient.

The new update and features are rolling out right now, but as usual for such things, it might not land everywhere at the same time.

Tap and hold the message, then choose Delete from the menu.

The message contained in a quoted message. WhatsApp for Symbian does not support the feature.

The recalled messages will also be deleted in the notifications centre on iOS. You can update your WhatsApp to the latest version and see if you have received it. Otherwise, you can probably delete the message and safely know it wasn't seen. Blink, and you end up sending your covert Thailand trip pictures in a family group instead of your friends.

Other reports by AllAboutTopnews

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER