Angola joins UN Human Rights Council

Brandon Parsons
October 18, 2017

The United States and human rights groups sharply criticized Monday's U.N. election for 15 new members of the Human Rights Council, singling out conflict-torn Congo's victory despite accusations of serious rights abuses and an investigation by the U.N.'s top human rights body.

Human Rights activist and Human Rights Commission of Pakistan Director Najam U Din told The Nation HRCP lauded Pakistan's "victory" on becoming a member state of UN Human Rights Council.

Ending a two-year campaign to join the United Nations body, Australia will now serve a three-year term on the body responsible for protecting human rights around the world, starting on January 1, 2018. Barring that, he suggested that it would be better to make all United Nations member states members rather than electing countries that do not meet the council's standards.

"Countries that aggressively violate human rights at home should not be in a position to guard the human rights of others".

The United Nations in a release, said all would serve three-year terms beginning on 1 January 2018.

African countries had four candidates for their continent's four seats on the council and Congo got the lowest number of votes — 151.

The other winners in uncontested races were Angola, Nigeria, Senegal, Slovakia, Ukraine, Chile, Mexico, Peru, Australia and Spain.

"This election marks a humbling moment of paramount importance to Nepal since it reflects the worldwide community's acknowledgement of Nepal's passionate efforts and accomplishments in the field of promotion and protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms", said Durga Prasad Bhattarai, Nepal's Permanent Representative at the United Nations. "Pakistan's election gives the lie to those who claims that Pakistan is isolated", Maleeha Lodhi said. "Pakistan", she said, "is humbled by and grateful for the overwhelming support received from the world community".

The Council's membership is based on equitable geographical distribution and seats are distributed as follows: 13 seats for African States, 13 seats for Asia Pacific States, 8 seats for Latin American and Caribbean States, 7 seats for Western European and other States, and 6 seats for Eastern European States.

Other reports by AllAboutTopnews

Discuss This Article